July 28, 2012

2012 Brickyard Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Sebastien Bourdais and Alex Popow survived a rough-and-tumble round of the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series to win the inaugural Brickyard Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in the No. 2 Soloson Ford/Riley for Starworks Motorsport.

Bourdais pulled away on the final restart on the 2.534-mile Indy road course to clinch the Daytona Prototype division's first North American Endurance Championship presented by VISITFLORIDA.com.

It was another highlight in the team’s incredible season, which has included second-place finishes in the Rolex 24 At Daytona and Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen in addition to class titles in the endurance classic at Le Mans and Sebring.

The No. 01 TELMEX BMW/Riley of DP leaders Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas took second in the three-hour event, while Max Angelelli and Ricky Taylor finished third in the No. 10 SunTrust Racing Corvette DP.

Juan Pablo Montoya, who teamed with Scott Dixon in the No. 02 Chevron BMW/Riley Ganassi entry, stoked controversy with his driving stint, bumping Joao Barbosa and then Ryan Dalziel out of likely top-five finishes in the late stages of the race.

Andy Lally and John Potter prevailed in GT in the No. 44 Magnus Racing Porsche GT3, securing the $50,000 NAEC honors in the division.

1st: Alex Popow and Sebastien Bourdais, Soloson Ford/Riley
2nd: Memo Rojas and Scott Pruett, TELMEX BMW/Riley
3rd: Max Angelelli and Ricky Taylor, SunTrust Corvette DP

1st: John Potter and Andy Lally, Magnus Racing Porsche GT3
2nd: Jonathan Bomarito and Sylvain Tremblay, SpeedSource Mazda RX-8
3rd: Andrew Davis and Leh Keen, Brumos Porsche GT-3

Margin of Victory:  1.271 seconds (DP); 2.161 seconds (GT)
Average Speed:   76.827 mph (DP); 76.427 mph (GT)
Cautions: Nine for 34 laps

Photo Credit: MotorSportMedia | Halston Pitman | Jake Galstad

Source: Grand Am

No comments:

Post a Comment

nRelate Posts Only